You have seven major energy centers along your spine, running from the base of your spine
to the top of your head. These energy centers are called chakras, after the Sanskrit for
"wheel" which refers to movement of energy within a healthy, unblocked chakra.*

Your chakras are correspond to points where there are major nerve ganglia branching forth
from y
our spinal column, and each chakra is associated with levels of consciousness,
archetypal elements, developmental stages of life, colors, sounds, body functions, and
much, much more.  

One of the functions of yoga, reiki, meditation & gem therapy is to cleanse, activate and
your chakras, allowing your energy to flow more freely.
Crown - Seventh Chakra
Thought, Universal Identity, Oriented to Self-Knowledge
The crown chakra relates to consciousness as pure awareness.  It is our connection to our
higher self, the divine, the timeless, spaceless place of oneness.  This chakra brings us wisdom,
understanding, spiritual connection and bliss.  The colors associated with this chakra are
white and gold.  The element associated with the crown chakra is
Ether - the 5th of the
edic elements - called "idea" in Greek philosophy, "void" in Zen, and "Akasha" in Sanskrit.
Third Eye - Sixth Chakra:
Light, Spiritual Identity, Oriented to Self-Reflection
The third eye chakra is related to the act of seeing both physically and intuitively.  The third
eye opens our psychic faculties and facilitates true understanding.  This chakra allows us to
see "the big picture" and is the sight that guides us on our spiritual path.  The color
associated with the third eye chakra is purple.  The element associated with the third eye
chakra is
Throat - Fifth Chakra:
Sound, Creative Identity, Oriented to Self-Expression
The throat chakra is related to communication, creativity and self-identity.  The throat
chakra allows us to experience the world symbolically through vibration, such as the sound
vibration associated with language and singing.  It is the center of self-expression and
expression of the will.  The color associated with this chakra is blue.  The element associated
with the throat chakra is
Heart - Fourth Chakra:
Air, Social Identity, Oriented to Self-Acceptance
The heart chakra is the middle chakra in a system of seven.  The heart chakra integrates our
higher, more spiritual selves with our lower more visceral selves. The heart chakra is the
integrator of opposites: mind and body, male and female, ego and unity.  The heart chakra
is the center of Universal love and compassion.  The colors associated with this chakra are
green and pink.  The element associated with the heart chakra is
Solar Plexus - Third Chakra:
Fire, Ego Identity, Oriented to Self-Definition
The solar plexus is the power chakra.  The solar plexus chakra rules our personal power, sense
of self, will, autonomy and metabolism.  This chakra brings us energy, effectiveness,
spontaneity, self-confidence, and non-dominating power.  The solar plexus chakra is the
chakra of individual identity.  The color associated with this chakra is yellow.  The element
associated with the solar plexus chakra is
Sacrum - Second Chakra:
Water, Emotional Identity, Oriented to Self-Gratification
The sacral chakra, located between your hip bones, is related to creativity, sensuality and
your inner-child.  The sacral chakra connects us to the world through feeling, desire,
sensation, and movement.  This chakra brings us grace, depth of feeling, sexual fulfillment
and the ability to accept change. The sacral chakra is also associated with f
ertility and the
reproductive organs.  The color associated with this chakra is orange. The element
associated with the second chakra is
Root - First Chakra:
Earth, Physical Identity, Oriented to Self-Preservation
The root chakra is located at the base of the spine and is our connection to the earth.  The
root chakra is our survival chakra, our center for procreation, prosperity, grounding and
balance.  The root chakra is about tribal bonding and group membership.  The color
associated with this chakra is red.  The elements associated with the root chakra are
  What are Chakras?... Chakras are your body's major energy centers
* Please note: Healing Properties referenced on this site have not been evaluated by the FDA and are not meant to act as a substitute for medical care
Private Yoga / NYC
Mind ~ Body ~ Spirit
private yoga lessons*, reiki energy work, guided meditation, healing touch
comfort, convenience, customization in your home or office
specializing in stress reduction & pain relief
Vermont & New York City
~ marsya ~

also offering: yoga jewelry, gem therapy, healing gemstone jewelry
*group, package & corporate rates available